The Missouri Alliance for Arts Education supports, promotes, and advocates for fine arts education for the benefit of ALL Missourians.

Every Student • Every Child • Every Day

In fulfilling our mission and helping the Missouri Alliance for Arts Education Educate,  Promote,  Celebrate,  Research, Connect within the field of arts education, and enact our projects, programs and initiatives, MAAE has several committees at work.  Access a list of the members of each committee at the links at right.

Executive Committee

The executive committee meets monthly to guide and facilitate the work of MAAE throughout the year. It consists of elected officers, one MAAE Board representative from DANCE, MUSIC, THEATRE and VISUAL ARTS, one member-at-large, and committee chairs.

Jeff Sandquist, Chair
   >learn more here

Executive Committee Members

Jeff Sandquist*, Chair, bio

Tom Tobias*, Vice-Chair, bio

Michael Dove* - Secretary, bio

Bruce Dickerson* - Treasurer, bio

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Visual Art - MAEA President - Hester Menier

Theatre - Mo Thespians Advocacy Chair - Teri Turner

Dance - MDO - president - Lisa Geger

Music - (one of these ) 

MCDA President - Amy Krinke

MoASTA Chair - Allison Ross

MOAJE President - John Evans

MBA President - Kenny Hansen

At-Large Representative to Executive Committee

Robert Gifford - Arts Integration Committee chair Past-Chair MAAE - bio

Staff - Phyllis Pasley, Executive Director - bio

Arts Integration Committee

Robert Gifford, Chair
>learn more here

The Arts Integration committee meets monthly to continue the ongoing work to support and promote Arts Integration in Missouri Schools. 

Arts Integration Committee Members

Robert Gifford, Chair

Jenna Arnold

Alice Bloch

Andrea Branstetter

Harlan Brownlee

Abby Crawford

Lisa Geger

Julie Hale

Lauren Hanahan

Daniel Hellman

Cindy Kahn

Breana Kavanaugh

Roger Kelley

Rachel LaMear

Aaron Money

Melodye Moore

Phyllis Pasley

Maggie Peeno

Jeff Sandquist

Kari Schepker-Mueller

Wendy Sims

Tom Tobias

Janelle Velten

M.A.I.N.  Event Planners

Missouri Arts Integration Network Planning Team

Lauren Hanahan, Phyllis Pasley, chair, Jo Byrnes, Kara Armstrong, Kari Schepker-Mueller, Aaron Money

Racism Inclusion Diversity Equity R.I.D.E. Committee

Maria A. Ellis, Chair - bio
  >learn more about committee work here

The nation's renewed interest in issue of systemic racism cause MAAE Board members do more than make a statement of support. The committee was formed in June, 2020 to clarify MAAE's position, and provide resources and support for social change toward (anti-) Racism, Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity.

R.I.D.E. Committee Members

Maria A. Ellis, Chair

Alice Bloch

Lisa Geger

Daniel Hellman

Phyllis Pasley

Jeff Sandquist

Tim Gore

Connie Shoemaker

Teri Turner

Melodye Moore

RIDE -Teacher Resource Hub 

Task Force

Tim Gore, chair

Phyllis Pasley

Maria A. Ellis

MAAE Advisory Council for Financial Sustainability

Harlan Brownlee, chair - bio
  >learn more here

Comprised of diverse individuals from every region of the state, Advisory Council members are invited to attend quarterly meetings to provide valuable information about avenues of revenue from granting organization, sponsors, donors, contributors and in-kind donations to continue MAAE services and programming in support of Arts Education in Missouri.

Advisory Council Members

Harlan Brownlee, Past MAAE Board - CHAIR

Jennifer Morgan Beuchat - Director of Theatre, Leavenworth High School, Leavenworth, KS

Alice Bloch, dancer, choreographer, teaching artist, past MAAE Board, past-president MDO

Mark Alan Anderson, Visual Art Coordinator, NKC Schools 

Vicki Bean, art educator (retired,) Past president, MAEA

Kathy Bhat, Orchard Farm MS/HS 

Ray Castrey, Past Missouri Fine Arts Academy Director

Dr. Mike Cowan, Retired HS Principal 

Brian Crouse, V.P. Education, Missouri Chamber of Commerce

Brent Ghan, Missouri School Boards Association, Chief Comm. Officer

Roger Kelley, Chair, Arts Coordinator, KC 33 School District

Melinda J. Mehaffy, City of Gladstone, Economic Development Admin.

James W. Melton, Coordinator of Fine Arts, Columbia Public Schools

Aaron Money, Director of Fine Arts, Liberty Schools, Past MAAE Board

Rebecca Moppin, Principal, McMillan Elem., Mexico 59 School District

Connie Shoemaker, Rolla High School in Applied Visual Arts, Adjunct and Dual Credit instructor at Drury University. Missouri Art Education Association Past- President, Youth Art Month Co-Chair for Missouri, former vice-chair MAAE.

Dr. Charles Taylor, Professor of Communication, Drury University

Legislative Watch

Andrea Branstetter, coordinator - bio
  >learn more here

This team was assembled to examine pending legislation under consideration by Missouri's House and Senate. They conduct research, prepare position papers and deliver testimony to inform legislators about the impact of proposed legislation, through a lens focused on arts education.

Legislative Watch Group Members

Andrea Branstetter

Kyna Iman

Dr. Melissa A. Cooper

Tom Tobias

Dr. Robert Gifford

Phyllis Pasley

Jeff Sandquist

Roy Maxwell

Covid-19 Work Group - dormant since January 2022

Phyllis Pasley, coordinator
  >learn more here

This group of compassionate individuals began working together in late April, 2020 to provide resources and a sense of hope for arts educators experiencing the trauma of abrupt change in a climate of ongoing uncertainty. The group, along with additional volunteers recruited to assist with the curation of resources on the MAAE-MATCH website (Missouri Arts Teacher Center for Help)  continues to work together to make plans, recommendations and resources available to Missouri teachers.

COVID-19 Work Group Members

Shellby Brannam

Stephanie Brueggeman

Beth Davey

Lisa Geger

Brian Hartman

Daniel Hellman

Roger Kelley

Ben Martin

Hester Menier

Phyllis Pasley

Jocelyn Prendergast

Stephen Rew

Jeff Sandquist

Chris Sprague

Tom Tobias

Teri Turner

Lezlie Waltz

G.W. Brandes