Education and Advocacy

2020 August Primary Election Winners Respondents


to inform and educate those who can help the arts and
arts education thrive in Missouri

A collaborative research survey venture in September of 2020 between MAAE and Missouri Citizens for the Arts asked 244 primary election winners to respond to a survey regarding their attitudes toward the arts and arts education. We received responses from those candidates listed below. Click the link below to see a PDF report for each candidate listed.

The survey candidates were asked to respond to may be viewed here.

2020 Primary Winners
who responded to the MAAE - MCA survey

Click the links below to see a PDF report for each candidate listed.

80% of respondents identified themselves as members of the Democrat Party, 16.9% identified as Republican party. The remainder identified themselves as Libertarian.

90% stated a belief that state government has a role to play in arts infrastructure.

98% believe the arts have social and economic value.

80% voices support for increased arts funding.

While 92.3% stated their willingness to support arts instruction to benefit students and aid workforce development.

If you encounter any errors or needed corrections in the links here, please email

MAAE Partners in Advocacy

  • AFTA-Americans for the Arts
  • AEP-Arts Education Partnership
  • MCA-Missouri Citizens for the Arts
  • MACAA-Missouri Association of Community Arts Agencies
  • MMEA -Missouri Music Educators Association
  • NASAA -National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
  • NAMM-National Association of Music Merchants

If you encounter any errors or needed corrections in the links here, please email

Candidates by office/district

Governor District 59 / 6 Lohman Rik Combs

House District 5 Emanuel Cleaver, II

House District 6 Dr. Gena Ross

House District 11 Brenda Shields

House District 12 Wade Hugh Kiefer

House District 13 Kansas City Vic Abundis

House District 14 Ashley Aune

House District 14 Kansas City Eric Holmes

House District 15 Maggie Nurrenbern

House District 16 Kansas City James Shackelford

House District 17 (South Liberty, East KC, Birmingham, Claycomo, Glenaire, and Pleasant Valley) Brandt Vircks

House District 18 Kansas City, North Kansas City, Avondale Wes Rogers

House District 19 Kansas City, Sugar Creek, Independence Ingrid Burnett

House District 22 Yolanda Young

House District 24 - midtown/downtown area of KC Emily Weber

House District 25 Kansas City Patty Lewis

House District 31 Rhonda Dolan

House District 34 Chris Hager

House District 34 /LEES SUMMIT Rick Roeber

House District 35 Lee's Summit, Raytown, KC Keri Ingle

House District 36 Kansas City Mark A. Sharp

House District 37 Annette Turnbaugh

House District 38 Doug Richey

House District 44 Columbia, Hallsville, Centralia, Sturgeon, Clark Jacque Sample

House District 47 Adrian Plank

House District 50 Kari Chesney

House District 54 Warrensburg James Williams RN ANP

House District 56 Neal Barnes

House District 58 Willard Haley

House District 64 Aaliyah Bailey

House District 65 Bill Otto

House District 70 Paula Brown

House District 81 St Louis Steve Butz

House District 83 Jo Doll

House District 87 Ian Mackey

House District 89 Luke Barber

House District 91 Sarah Unsicker

House District 92 Bill Heisse

House District 93 Gabriel Jones

House District 93 Bridget Walsh Moore

House District 94 Jean Pretto

House District 95 Ann Zimpfer

House District 96 Erica Hoffman

House District 98 Shamed Dogan

House District 98 Ballwin Angie Schaefer

House District 99 Manchester Trish Gunby

House District 100 Helena Webb

House District 102 Tracy Grundy

House District 103 Lisa Rees

House District 105 Christine Hyman

House District 108 Susan Shumway

House District 126 Jim Hogan

House District 131 Springfield Bill Owen

House District 133 Springfield Cindy Slimp

House District 134 Springfield Derrick Nowlin

House District 137 Raymond Lampert

House District 156 Brian Seitz

House District 158 Brenda McKinney

Senate District 21 Mark Bliss

Senate District 23 Richard Orr

Senate District 33 Tammy Harty

Seeking feedback and suggestions.

This website was launched in August, 2020. We are seeking feedback from site visitors about their experience. Please share your thoughts on this survey.

The MAAE greatly appreciates the financial support provided by the Francis Family Foundation and the MAAE member organizations for
Fine Arts Education Day.

Missouri Alliance for Arts Education -